Definite's Extractor

My findings on Life, Linux, Open Source, and so on.

.rpmmacros in RHEL5

I used to pack rpm in RHEL5 with rpm-build, but the names of generated rpms are very weird: package-version-0el5.rpm, where the normal name should be package-version-0.el5.rpm

I kept trying various version of rpm-build, but none prevail. Finally, I learnt one of the rpmbuild options --showrc, which really helps.
On my F-9 machine, rpmbuild --showrc | grep fc9 shows:

-14: dist	.fc9
-14: fc9	1

while my RHEL5 shows:

-14: dist	el5
-14: el5	1

Immediately I realized I should add the following line to ~/.rpmmacros:

%dist .el5

This ended the weird thing, ha ha ha.

Leave a Reply

